Thompson Named to Doak Walker Award Observe Listing

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech junior operating back again SaRodorick Thompson saw his identify placed

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech junior operating back again SaRodorick Thompson saw his identify placed on the preseason watch listing for the Doak Walker Award for a next-consecutive year Tuesday as portion of an announcement by the PwC SMU Athletic Discussion board.
This is the to start with preseason enjoy record for Thompson this year and the 3rd of his career as he was also a preseason applicant for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award prior to the 2020 campaign. The Doak Walker Award, offered every year to the nation’s top rated functioning back, is only the fourth observe checklist announced hence much as component of the timetable from the Nationwide College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).
Thompson has paced Texas Tech on the ground the earlier two seasons, starting to be the to start with Pink Raider to lead the group in hurrying above again-to-back again decades considering that DeAndre Washington in 2014-15 and the to start with underclassman to do so given that Taurean Henderson was the team leader over four-straight seasons from 2002-05.
Thompson shut the COVID-shortened 2020 year with 610 speeding yards and 8 touchdowns on 109 carries to be a part of the likes of Henderson, Ricky Williams (1997-98), Byron Hanspard (1994-95), Byron Morris (1991-92) and James Grey (1986-87) as the only Red Raiders considering the fact that 1970 to lead the group in dashing as both a freshman and sophomore.
Two of all those names are familiar kinds in the record of the Doak Walker Award as Morris became the 1st Crimson Raider to claim the prestigious award in 1993 adopted by Hanspard in 1996. Texas Tech joins the likes of Texas, Wisconsin, Stanford and Alabama as the only faculties nationally with numerous winners of the award due to the fact its inception in 1990.
Thompson has rushed for 1,480 yards and 23 touchdowns above his two-in addition seasons, positioning the Irving native in competition to join the school’s all-time vocation leaders moving into the 2021 campaign. He needs 800 dashing yards to match Ring of Honor member Donny Anderson (1963-65) for 10th all-time in plan historical past and 6 touchdowns on the floor to tie the trio of Billy Taylor (1974-77), Hanspard (1994-96) and Zebbie Lethridge for eighth in the university history e book.
The Doak Walker Award will identify 10 semifinalists in November adopted by three finalists immediately after a vote by its countrywide choice committee later on in the thirty day period. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the 2021 receiver of the award, which will be declared live on ESPN for the duration of The House Depot School Football Awards.
The award is named for SMU’s three-time All-American working back again Doak Walker. It is the only key collegiate award that necessitates all candidates to be in excellent educational standing and on agenda to graduate within just one 12 months of other learners of the exact classification.